Which Foods Don’t Contain Gluten?

We already learned which foods items contain gluten. I’m sure I’m not the only one who got a little depressed the first time reading a list of all the food items I could no longer eat on a gluten free diet.

Well, now we are getting to the good part – the foods that don’t contain gluten! I know all my friends and family think I’m lying when I tell them a gluten free diet can be just as good as a normal diet, but it really is true.

There are tons of great-tasting, nutritious foods out there that are gluten free. The thing you will learn is that many “convenience” foods contain gluten. Processed foods, which we should not be eating in large quantities anyways, are readily available – just take a look on a fast food menu or at the food at the gas station. Basically everything you will see has gluten in it. The point I am trying to get across is this – the more natural a food product is, the more likely it is that product is gluten free. The more processed a food item is = the more likely it has gluten in it.

which foods don't contain gluten

The following foods are all naturally gluten free, which means they will be gluten free as long as no gluten-containing ingredient is added to them:

  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Rice
  • Beans
  • Eggs
  • Cheese (careful with bleu cheese, it might use wheat as a catalyst)
  • Milk (as long as it’s not malted)
  • Unprocessed meat and seafood
  • Most potato chips

The following grains are also gluten free:

  • Amaranth
  • Buckwheat
  • Quinoa
  • Sorghum
  • Teff
  • Millet
  • Corn
  • Montina
  • Rice and Wild Rice

There are plenty of gluten free flours and starches to use for gluten free baking as well. As I said earlier, it is possible to cook anything you want without gluten. It will take a little more planning and experimentation, but eventually, you will find amazingly delicious gluten free recipes for all your favorite foods.