Mayonnaise and Gluten-Free Eaters: A Match Made in Heaven?

I’ll admit, I haven’t always loved mayonnaise. The creamy white texture was a little off-putting, and I just thought it looked kinda gross. But, eventually I gave it a shot, liked it, and it has since become the regular condiment choice for my gluten-free lunch sandwiches.

So, yes, the simple answer is that mayonnaise is gluten-free. But, like most things in the gluten-free world, it requires a little more in-depth look.

Hellman’s mayonnaise was announced as America’s best-selling condiment last year, so it makes sense that gluten-free people will want to know if they can eat it or not.

Here on their website, Hellman’s lists the ingredients in their REAL Mayonnaise: “SOYBEAN OIL, WATER, WHOLE EGGS AND EGG YOLKS, VINEGAR, SALT, SUGAR, LEMON JUICE, CALCIUM DISODIUM EDTA (USED TO PROTECT QUALITY), NATURAL FLAVORS. GLUTEN-FREE.” Not only are there no gluten-containing ingredients, but they specifically list “Gluten-Free” at the end. Thank you, Hellman’s!

After checking the websites of Best Foods and Kraft, they also show that their Real Mayo is gluten-free. Kraft is a company that discloses all gluten, so when they do not mention it on a product, it is gluten-free. Why can’t more brands be like these guys and just put “Gluten-Free” on their products instead of leaving us guessing? So, it appears most real brands of mayonnaise are actually gluten-free. What you need to be looking out for are the other stuff that can sometimes pass as mayonnaise.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Thankfully, after posting this, one kind reader informed me that Walmart’s brand of mayo is NOT gluten-free, so stay away from that. Thanks Lindsay!

Warning: Celiacs should NEVER use mayo that is in a jar in someone else’s fridge, since there is about a 100% chance that jar has been cross-contaminated with bread crumbs or some other gluten-containing. If you are a celiac and there are gluten-eating individuals in your house, either get your own jar of mayonnaise that no one uses or try the squeeze tops.

Here are a few gluten-free recipes to consider trying that use mayo:

1. GF Crispy Chicken Tenders

2. GF Egg Salad Sandwich

3. GF Turkey Roll-Ups

Enjoy!

 

2 Responses to Mayonnaise and Gluten-Free Eaters: A Match Made in Heaven?

  1. Lindsay January 11, 2015 at 5:40 pm #

    Not all mayo is GF. For instance, Walmart’s Great Value brand is not.

    • Brian January 24, 2015 at 9:01 pm #

      Thanks for letting me know, Lindsay! I updated the post to reflect this.

Leave a Reply