Is Kix Gluten Free?

Kix is a puffed corn cereal made by General Mills that has been around since 1937.  I am sure you have heard the famous “Kid Tested, Mother Approved” slogan.  Kix cereal recently (a few years ago) changed some of their ingredients, so we were curious to know about the changes.  It turns out they no longer use oats, which most people will say are usually contaminated with gluten-containing grains.

The Answer

Well, Kix cereal does not contain any gluten ingredients, yet they have stated that they do not have a dedicated gluten-free facility, so there is a chance of cross-contamination.  I cannot safely say that Kix is gluten-free since it is not labeled as such.  However, there are no gluten ingredients listed in the ingredient list.

I have personally eaten Kix cereal a few times and did not feel any of the effects of being “glutened”.  If you are a celiac or highly sensitive to gluten, I would definitely stay away from it.  I would say I am closer to the lower end of the sensitivity scale and have never felt bad after eating Kix, so if you think you can handle it, go ahead.  I read a few random posts online where gluten-free individuals said they have not had a reaction to Kix ever, so take that for what it’s worth.  I always advise that it’s better to be a little cautious than very sorry.

To always be 100% sure a product is g-free, check with the manufacturer before consuming!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply