Are Kit Kats Celiac Safe?

A Kit Kat is a “chocolate-coated wafer confection”  that is produced by Nestle.  Each little bar is made with fingers, with each individual finer able to break off and be eaten on its own.  A Kit Kat is made up mainly of chocolate, cocoa butter, and sugar.  Their crunchy, unique taste has allowed them to remain popular with children for decades.

Kit Kats have been a popular Halloween candy for as long as I can remember.  When I was younger and would go Trick or Treatin’, my bag would be about 20% full of Kit Kats at the end of the night.  I didn’t mind though; I loved them.

Kit Kat

So, Are Kit Kats Gluten Free?

Nope, unfortunately Kit Kats are NOT gluten-free.  One of the ingredients listed is wheat flour, which means they are off limits for us celiacs and other GF people.  I was pretty disappointed to find out I could not eat my beloved Kit Kat anymore.

Even though a Kit Kat contains gluten, there are other similar products out there that are GF.  The one that I have tried is called a Break Bar made by Glutano, and it was quite good.  If you absolutely need something similar to Kit Kats, these Break Bars will definitely fill the void.  Glutino (similar to Glutano, but different apparently) also makes a chocolate wafer that I have heard is similar to the Break Bar, but I haven’t tried it yet so I can’t comment on the taste.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply