Is Jimmy Dean Sausage Gluten Free?

Jimmy Dean is a well-known manufacturer of breakfast meats, sandwiches, skillets, omelets, and more. You have definitely come across them at one point or another in a grocery store in the United States, as they are very popular and available everywhere. I love eating breakfast at all times of the day, so I set out to find out which of my favorite breakfast foods were gluten-free and which weren’t.

The Answer

After a ton of research, I have not been able to confirm if Jimmy Dean breakfast sausage is gluten free. According to jimmydean.com, here are the ingredients in the Original Sausage Links: “INGREDIENTS: PORK, WATER, CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF THE FOLLOWING: SODIUM LACTATE, SALT, DEXTROSE, SPICES, SUGAR, SODIUM PHOSPHATES, MONOSODIUM GLUTAMATE, SODIUM DIACETATE, FLAVORINGS, CARAMEL COLOR, BEEF COLLAGEN CASINGS.”

The real issue here is the caramel color that is being added to the sausage. One lady said she called a rep of Jimmy Dean and the rep could not confirm where the caramel color comes from, so it could in fact be from barley. I would stay away from the sausage until it is confirmed gluten free.

With everything you are unsure of in regards to gluten free or not, it is always wise to contact the manufacturer of the product.  They are the only people who can 100% tell you that it is GF or not.  I might be a bit overcautious, but if the label doesn’t specifically say “gluten-free”, I always check into further.  I never want to risk eating that hidden gluten, so better to be safe than sorry.

But, what about Jimmy Dean Turkey Sausage?

I did a good amount of research on their turkey sausage, and it looks like it is in the same boat as the regular sausage. The caramel color is really throwing us a confusing curveball. Is the caramel coloring really that important?! Just take it out so we can eat your friggin’ sausages already! Like I said earlier, I will try to confirm with the company about the gluten content of their products.

To always be 100% sure a product is gluten-free, check with the manufacturer before consuming!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply