Is Tempeh Gluten Free?

Tempeh is a traditional soy product that originated in what is now Indonesia.  It is especially popular on the island of Java.  Tempeh is similar to tofu in that it is also a made from soybeans, but tempeh is a whole soybean product with different textural qualities and nutritional characteristics.

Tempeh has become especially popular in recent years with vegetarians and vegans as a type of meat analogue.  It is not the most flavorful food in the world, but it does have an unique nutty, chewy texture that really grows on some people.

Tempeh – Gluten Free?

So, Is Tempeh Gluten Free or Not?

Unfortunately, the answer to this question isn’t exactly black and white.  While some brands of tempeh are indeed gluten-free, some are not.  Check the package to see if it says gluten-free on it, or if it says “contains wheat”.  Some will say neither, and that is where you will have to dig deeper.

Turtle Island Foods produces three different kinds of tempeh that are all GF: Organic Five Grain Tempeh, Spicy Veggie Tempeh, and Organic Soy Tempeh.

If you are unsure if the tempeh at your local store is gluten-free or not, look the product up online.  If you still don’t know, call the manufacturer and ask them.  It is always better to be safe than sorry when it comes to gluten.  I am going to stick to my Turtle Island Foods tempeh in the meantime!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply