Is Hunts Ketchup Gluten Free?

Hunt’s Ketchup is a 100% natural ketchup product found all over America.  It is made by Hunt’s brand.  I used to love putting their ketchup on so many different products, from hamburgers to hot dogs and anything else I could think of.  I couldn’t find very much nutritional information on Hunt’s Ketchup on any websites, so I sent them an email inquiring about whether or not it is GF.

Here is their response:

“Thank you for your email concerning our Hunt’s Ketchup.
We understand how important it is for people who have been medically diagnosed with gluten sensitivity to obtain accurate information about our food to help plan their meals and diets. And we continue to look for ways to meet the dietary needs of our consumers.

Since wheat is a major food allergen, if it is used in the product it would be listed in the contains statement following the ingredients list. The flour used in many of our products is wheat flour and you should avoid these products if you have gluten sensitivities. If any ingredient in the product includes rye or barley, it will be listed in parentheses immediately following the ingredient. Oats do not contain gluten, but they frequently have been exposed to wheat or barley and are not recommended for celiac patients. If Natural Flavors, Artificial Flavors, or Spices listed in the ingredients list contain wheat, rye or barley, these ingredients would be listed in parenthesis immediately following the ingredient. Some fermented or distilled products such as vinegar may be derived from wheat. Most of the vinegar in our products is distilled and through the distilling process protein gluten is removed.

Products That Do Not Contain Gluten*
Category/Brand/Items
-Cocoa: Swiss Miss all varieties
-PAM Cooking Spray: all varieties except PAM Baking
-Hebrew National: all items except Franks in a Blanket
-Wesson oils: all varieties
-Peter Pan Peanut Butter: all varieties
-Popcorn: Act II microwave, Orville Redenbacher jar and microwave, excluding Crunch n Munch and Poppycock
-Pudding: Swiss Miss & Snack Pack, excludes those containing Tapioca
-Spreads: Parkay, Blue Bonnet, Fleischmann’s and Move Over Butter
-David Seeds: all varieties
-Tomato Sauces: Hunt’s tomato paste and sauces excluding pasta sauces
-Tomatoes: Hunt’s all varieties
-Ketchup: Hunt’s all varieties
-Reddi-Wip: all varieties
-Egg Beaters: all varieties
-Ro*Tel Tomatoes
*These items have been identified as not containing gluten. They are not currently routinely testing to affirm they contain less than 20ppm gluten for a ‘gluten free’ claim.

We always advise consumers who may have sensitivities to recheck the ingredient list on each package. Products are oftentimes reformulated and the ingredients may change. If you have additional questions about your personal dietary needs, please consult your doctor or a registered dietitian. “

So, it does appear that Hunt’s Ketchup does not contain gluten.  It would make me feel much better if there was a “GLUTEN-FREE” notice added to all products that don’t have gluten, instead of making us check all the ingredients and do our own research with every product.  Still, good to know we can eat Hunt’s Ketchup safely!

To always be 100% sure a product is gluten-free, check with the manufacturer before consuming!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply