Is Balsamic Vinegar Gluten Free?

Modern commercial-grade balsamic vinegar is used in salad dressings, reductions, dips, marinades, and sauces.  Balsamic vinegar has become quite popular among chefs at many upscale restaurants all over the world.  It’s rich, slightly sweet flavor allows it to be used in a wide variety of creative dishes.

Since balsamic vinegar has become so popular in the United States the past 20-25 years, I figured there were many celiacs and gluten-sensitive individuals who would be interested in knowing if it is GF or not…

Balsamic Vinegar

The Verdict

YES, balsamic vinegar is GLUTEN-FREE! I often make my own balsamic vinaigrette to use on salads with my balsamic vinegar, and it is delicious.  I highly recommend balsamic vinaigrette to anyone looking for a way to spruce up their salads or other veggies.

In fact, most vinegars are GF.  Regular vinegar, red wine vinegar, and apple cider vinegar are all OK for us to use.  The one exception to this is malt vinegar, which is made by malting barley.  Malt vinegar contains gluten, so stay away!

So, yes, balsamic vinegar is gluten-free.  There are entire cookbooks dedicated to cooking with balsamic vinegar, so I advise checking one of those out to get some cool ideas of what you can do with it. As always, check with the manufacturer of a product to be 100% certain it is GF before consuming!

Return to the homepage

Related Posts:

 

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply