Is Bailey’s Gluten Free?

Bailey’s Irish cream is an Irish whiskey and cream-based liquor.  It tastes fine when drunk by itself, but Bailey’s is most famous for being a part of many popular mixed drinks.

I still remember one of my favorite alcoholic drinks, a Mudslide featuring Bailey’s, vodka, and ice.  I hated beer the first time I drank it, but a Mudslide was just fantastic.  Unfortunately, I ended up drinking a few too many and really felt it the next day.

Bailey’s Irish Cream – Not Gluten-Free

Not only is Bailey’s a staple in many alcoholic drinks, but it is also used in a number of different food items.  I have made Bailey’s french toast and brownies and they were both delicious.  The official Bailey’s Irish cream website has many recipes if you are interested in trying some of them.

Is Bailey’s Irish Cream Gluten Free?

According to a statement from baileys.com, no, it is not gluten-free.  Here is what they had to say: “Please be advised that the whiskey used in Baileys Irish cream is manufactured by fermenting grain which contains Gluten. Due to the presence of gluten in the whiskey components before distillation we cannot absolutely guarantee that there are no effects to coeliacs. As we are not qualified to give medical advice persons requiring a gluten-free diet should consult their medical adviser before consuming Baileys Irish cream. ”

While many GF individuals can handle distilled grains with no problems, some cannot.  I would definitely not recommend that anyone who is a celiac or very sensitive to gluten to use Bailey’s.

Even though Bailey’s is not gluten-free, there are many recipes available online that give you step-by-step instructions for how to make it yourself at home.  When you do that, you can use a kind of whiskey that is definitely GF, so that there are no concerns about whether or not you will get sick.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply