Do Eggs Have Gluten?

Eggs are a favorite breakfast food in not only the United States, but all over the world.  When I first become aware of my gluten sensitivity a year ago, I was not aware which foods did and did not contain gluten.  I quickly rushed online and started doing some research.  One of the first foods that I went to check if it was gluten free or not was the almighty egg – and it WAS gluten free!  That’s right, eggs DO NOT contain gluten.

Eggs are one of the most nutrient-dense foods on the planet.  Therefore, people who are on a gluten free diet either because they are forced into it by celiac disease, or those who are doing it for other reasons, would be wise to include eggs as a regular food choice in their diets.  Eggs can be prepared to your liking – scrambled, sunny-side up, over-easy, poached, hard-boiled, soft-boiled, basted, and more.  They are one of the most versatile foods on the planet.

Not only are eggs delicious by themselves, but there are literally hundreds, maybe thousands, of different recipes that you can make with them to add a little flavor and spice to your bland diet.  Consider:

  • Omelets with your favorite veggies, cheese, and meat
  • Egg casserole with your favorite gluten free ingredients
  • Deviled eggs
  • Breakfast burrito with gluten-free corn tortillas, eggs, peppers, salsa, and cheese
So, now that you are aware that the egg is GF, delicious, packed with nutrients, and can be had for cheap, get out there and start devouring those eggs!

Comments are closed.