Are Cheerios Gluten-Free?

Ah, good ol’ Cheerios. Such fond memories.

I think I can safely say that I have eaten more Cheerios during my lifetime than any other cereal out there. My dad used to have a bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios waiting for me at the breakfast table every morning before school. I thought regular Cheerios were pretty good, but the Honey Nut Cheerios were really my favorite! This was long before I discovered my gluten intolerance…

Cheerios are NOT gluten-free. This is not to say that everyone will have a reaction if they eat them, but Cheerios contain oats which may contain traces of wheat. I would stay away now until they stop using oats in their recipe and actually tell us the product is now safe for gluten-free people to consume. Here is the box of Honey Nut Cheerios…

May Contain Wheat?! I don't think so

May Contain Wheat?! I don’t think so

The box of Honey Nut Cheerios even says “May contain Wheat”. I know I am not the only gluten-free person who runs from a product when it says that. I want to see no gluten-containing ingredients on the label, nothing about “may contain wheat” on the box, and preferably a big ol’ “GLUTEN-FREE” label on the front. But alas, Cheerios, you do not give this to me, so I shall stay away for now.

But I still miss you.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply