Are Wonton Wrappers Gluten Free?

Wonton wrappers are thin sheets of dough used for making a variety of Asian appetizers. They can be used for dumplings, ravioli, and countless other dishes. Wonton wrappers are usually found in the freezer section of grocery stores and specialty Asian stores. Knowing just how popular wonton wrappers are with many people in the United States (and the world), I thought it would be a good idea to find out if they contain gluten or not.

The Answer

Unfortunately, no, regular wonton wrappers are NOT gluten-free. Normal ingredients for wonton wrappers are eggs, flour, water, and salt. Obviously, the flour is the part that makes them contain gluten. Since the flour is an integral part of the ingredients, it would be extremely rare to find GF wrappers at a restaurant anywhere, unless it was an all gluten-free place.

There are ways to make gluten-free wonton wrappers by using GF flour, like quinoa, rice, or buckwheat. If you are interested in making some homemade gluten-free wonton wrappers, there are a number of recipes online. It seems to be a pretty simple, straightforward recipe that wouldn’t take very long.

To always be 100% sure a product contains gluten or is GF, check with the manufacturer before consuming!

Head back to the Homepage

Related posts:

2 Responses to Are Wonton Wrappers Gluten Free?

  1. Wendy Shapiro January 21, 2015 at 4:31 pm #

    are shumi wrappers in Japenese restaurants typically gluten free

    • Brian January 24, 2015 at 8:52 pm #


      Shumai wrappers are typically made with flour in restaurants, so assume they are NOT gluten-free while eating out.

Leave a Reply