Are Tostitos Gluten Free?

Tostitos, made by Frito Lay company, are tortilla chips well-known for being great for dipping in salsa, guacamole, and other delicious sauces.  When most people think of Tostitos, their minds usually go straight to the classic tortilla chips.  However, Tostitos has a ton of different products, mostly chips and dips, so I will give the rundown on the gluten content of the different products out there.

According to the Frito Lay website, here are the Tostitos products in the US that they confirm are GLUTEN FREE (under 20 ppm of gluten in testing):

TOSTITOS® Bite Size Rounds Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS® Crispy Rounds Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS® Extra Thin Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS® Natural Blue Corn Restaurant Style Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS® Natural Yellow Corn Restaurant Style Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS® Restaurant Style Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS® SCOOPS!® Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS® Thick & Hearty Rounds Tortilla Chips

Here are the Tostitos products that do not contain any gluten ingredients, yet some of them are made in the same facilities and lines as gluten-containing foods.  Due to this, they are not considered gluten free:

TOSTITOS® All Natural Hot Chunky Salsa
TOSTITOS® All Natural Medium Chunky Salsa
TOSTITOS® All Natural Mild Chunky Salsa
TOSTITOS® All Natural Pineapple & Peach Medium Salsa
TOSTITOS® Creamy Spinach Dip
TOSTITOS® Creamy Southwestern Ranch Dip
TOSTITOS® DIP CREATIONS® Freshly Made Guacamole Dry Dip Mix
TOSTITOS® Monterey Jack Queso
TOSTITOS® Multigrain SCOOPS!® Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS® Restaurant Style Salsa
TOSTITOS® Restaurant Style with a Hint of Jalapeno Flavored Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS® Restaurant Style with a Hint of Lime Flavored Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS® Restaurant Style with a Hint of Pepper Jack Flavored Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS® Salsa Con Queso
TOSTITOS® Salsa Verde Flavored Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS® Smooth & Cheesy Dip
TOSTITOS® Spicy Nacho Dip
TOSTITOS® Zesty Bean & Cheese Dip

It is possible that some gluten-intolerant people will be able to eat the products from the latter list with no problems, but the more sensitive individuals (and celiacs) should definitely avoid them.

To always be 100% sure a product is gluten-free, check with the manufacturer before consuming!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply