Are Rice Krispies Safe for Celiacs?

When I was a young kid, Rice Krispies were one of my favorite cereals.  I would eat them for breakfast multiple times a week.  Rice Krispies treats were a staple of the snacks that kids would bring in to school on special occasions.  Needless to say, even though I am in my twenties now, Rice Krispies were one of the things I missed the most when I found out I couldn’t eat gluten anymore.

Celiacs and gluten intolerant people cannot take chances when it comes to eating foods that may or may not contain gluten.  That is why it is important to be 100% sure of the ingredients before consuming anything.  Regular Rice Krispies ARE NOT gluten free.  Therefore, all people with gluten allergies should steer clear of the original Rice Krispies cereal.

However, after hearing many pleas for a gluten free version of their cereal, announced the following statement in March of 2011:   “New Rice Krispies® Gluten Free cereal, made with brown rice, lets you bring a childhood favorite back to the table. Now your kids can enjoy a bowlful for breakfast, and they won’t miss out on the timeless taste of homemade Rice Krispies Treats® marshmallow squares.”   Also, from the same page on the site, the ingredients list for the new GF version:  “Whole grain brown rice, sugar, contains 2% or less of salt, BHT for freshness.”

This new information from Kellogg’s is undoubtedly great news for all the celiacs and gluten intolerant people who grew up loving Rice Krispies, only to find out after their diagnosis that they would not be able to enjoy the cereal or Rice Krispies treats anymore.  Now these same people can make their own treats without any hassles!

Here is the recipe for the original Rice Krispies treats.  Just make sure to use the GF version instead!

An unique twist on Rice Krispies treats with chocolate chips and jelly beans.  Would be great for the holidays!

To always be 100% sure a product is gluten-free, check with the manufacturer before consuming!


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply