Are Reeses Safe for Celiacs?

Reeses Peanut Butter Cups have been a favorite of mine for as long as I can remember.  I used to love getting handfuls of them in my Halloween basket every year, and I would devour them before any of the other candy, going into a chocolate coma in the process.  I eventually started eating less and less candy and chocolate as I grew older.  I still occasionally treat myself though, so I thought it would be important to talk about whether or not Reeses are gluten-free.

Reeses Peanut Butter Cups contain no gluten-containing ingredients on the label.  However, they are not specifically labeled as “gluten-free”.  On one forum I read online, a rep from Hershey’s (the makers of Reeses) could not say that the Peanut Butter Cups were totally gluten-free.  This seems very strange to me, as none of the ingredients listed are even questionable for gluten-free eaters.  Maybe there are concerns about the ingredients somehow coming in contact with gluten-containing items somewhere along the manufacturing line, and Hershey’s does not want to be responsible for people having a reaction from their product.  I am only guessing though, so who really knows what the deal is.

I am gluten-intolerant, not a celiac, and I have never had any problems eating Reeses Peanut Butter Cups.  If you are a celiac or highly sensitive to gluten, I guess I would  try to find another chocolate treat to eat just to be safe.  Even though the label does not show any gluten ingredients, the fact that a Hershey’s rep wouldn’t even confirm it is gluten-free is a little bit of a concern .  I have also read a few posts around the Internet where people said they had a severe reaction after eating Reeses Peanut Butter Cups.  Nobody knew for sure why this was (there were many theories), but the general consensus was to eat them at your own risk.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply