Are Peanuts Gluten Free?

The peanut is a species in the legume family.  Despite its name and appearance, the peanut is not actually a nut, but a legume.  Peanuts are incredibly rich in many nutrients and phytonutrients.  Peanuts don’t actually need a formal introduction here, I would have to imagine.  In the United States, they are often salted and roasted and enjoyed as a snack.  They are also used in candies, cookies, cakes, and many other sweets.  Needless to say, peanuts have been all around us since we were born.  Since they are so popular, I have to imagine many people are wondering if they are gluten-free or not.

The Answer

Yes, peanuts ARE GLUTEN-FREE.  As long as you are just eating natural peanuts, they definitely do not have gluten.  Where it can get a little “iffy” is when the companies start adding ingredients and smoking the peanuts and other things.  In that case, read the label.  If the label seems questionable, call the company to make sure.  But yes, peanuts are 100% gluten-free by themselves!

Many people with a gluten intolerance often have other intolerances as well.  If you have always felt bad after eating peanuts or peanut butter, it is possible that you can’t handle peanuts either.  Also, peanut butter can often be very high in mold.  My girlfriend talked to a food nutritionist recently, and she recommended to stay away from peanut butter (because of the mold), and to go with an almond butter instead.  If your body has been reacting negatively to peanut-based products, you might want to talk to your doctor about getting tested for some sort of peanut sensitivity or allergy.

To always be 100% sure a product is gluten-free, check with the manufacturer before consuming!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply