Are Peanut M&M’s Gluten Free?

Peanut M&M’s are a wonderful candy that has been around for over half a century.  They are a great little treat for not only kids, but adults as well.  I’m sure you have seen the M&M’s commercials by now.  The ones where the “real life” M&M’s have to deal with people trying to eat them and all other sorts of shenanigans.  The commercials are funny, and the candy is delicious.  Since I wasn’t gluten intolerant when I was a child, I have to check all the foods I ate when I was younger to see if I can still safely eat them now.

The Verdict

YES, Peanut M&M’s ARE GLUTEN FREE.  This is music to my ears, and I am sure I am not the only one ecstatic to hear this.  It is great for gluten-free eaters to know they have a treat to reach for when those junk food cravings strike.  Here are the ingredients on Peanut M&M’s:  “Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Skim Milk, Lactose, Milkfat, Peanuts, Soy Lecithin, Salt, Artificial Flavors), Sugar, Peanuts, Cornstarch, Less than 1% – Corn Syrup, Gum Acacia, Coloring (Includes Red 40 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Red 40, Blue 1, Blue 2, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake), Dextrin, titanium oxide”.  So based on everything I’ve read and learned, it appears Peanut M&M’s are just fine for us GF folk to eat.

To always be 100% sure a product is gluten-free, check with the manufacturer before consuming!

 

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply