Oreos are a popular sandwich cookie produced by Nabisco. The Oreo has been the best-selling cookie in the United States since it was first introduced in 1912. I know I am not alone in thinking that holding down the top cookie spot for almost 100 years is a truly remarkable feat, considering the amount of competitors and how much times have changed.
I have fond memories of Oreos growing up. It seems like every treat after a soccer game would include them, as well as many snacks for schools functions in grade school. They were the ultimate treat, and not just because you could eat 10 of them very quickly and then get hit by the feeling that you should probably take it a little slower the next time you encountered Oreos.
So, Are Oreos Gluten-Free or Not?
I am sad to report that Oreos are NOT gluten-free. Enriched flour is listed as one of the ingredients, and the label below clearly says “Contains Wheat”. I was obviously bummed to find this out when I first became gluten-free, because even though I am not a big snack guy, Oreos were one of my favorites.
While Oreos are not gluten-free, you can still enjoy them if you make them yourself at home! I was very excited when I came across this homemade gluten-free Oreos recipe on Gluten-Free Girl. I have not tried them, but you can be sure I will be making them in the near future. The recipe doesn’t look extremely easy to make, but I am sure the payoff would be well worth it.