Are Nerds Gluten Free?

Nerds, made by Wonka, are a popular candy for kids of all ages.  It has been a staple for Halloween candy since I was a little kid.  The little box of purple candy was so delicious and addicting.  I fondly remember devouring box after box of Nerds when I was younger.  As I grew older, I started eating candy less and less.

I recently got an itch to eat some candy, so I thought it would be beneficial to know which types of candy were fine for me to eat.  For those not aware, I have been gluten-intolerant for a couple years now, so I am not as sensitive to gluten as celiacs and other people might be.  I checked Wonka’s website to see if Nerd’s were gluten-free, and while the Nerds do not have any gluten-containing ingredients, there is a warning that says “MADE IN A FACILITY THAT ALSO PROCESSES WHEAT AND EGGS“.  This is a bummer for gluten-free eaters wanting to relive their childhood and eat some Nerds.  I am sure that many people would be able to eat Nerds with no negative reaction whatsoever, but it is just not worth it to risk it for most.

I hope Wonka realizes how many gluten-free eaters are out there and dedicates a special area to producing candy that doesn’t have any gluten.  It is pretty depressing knowing that the candy itself doesn’t have any gluten ingredients, yet we can’t eat it because it is made in the same facility as wheat-containing ingredients.  Oh well, I am off to find a treat that I know is GF!

To always be 100% sure a product is gluten-free, check with the manufacturer before consuming!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply