Are Marshmallows Gluten Free?

This continues yet another installment in my popular “Gluten-Free or Not?” series for first time gluten-free eaters wondering whether they can eat a specific item…

When I first became gluten-free, I just assumed that marshmallows contained gluten. They are so fluffy and chewy that I thought there was no way they could be gluten-free. Oh, how wrong I was…

Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallows are widely-available in pretty much every grocery store across the country. If you have eaten any marshmallows in the past decade, chances are extremely high that it was these.

Kraft is a company that discloses whether or not there is gluten in their products, so when they do not list it, we can assume it is gluten-free. So, Jet-Puffed Marshmallows are safe to eat, which is great to know.

Marshmallows

Marshmallows = Almost always gluten-free

Campfire is another brand (made by Doumak) that offers 7 different kinds of marshmallows for various occasions, and the only one that isn’t gluten-free is their “Zebras” product. Their traditional marshmallows have “Gluten-Free” listed on the front of the package.

So, the answer to the question – yes, most marshmallows are gluten-free.

Just because you are gluten-free doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy s’mores either! With a little planning, you can enjoy some lovable s’mores around the campfire just like everyone else – check out this article by Jane Anderson.

I hope this article was informative for everyone. As always, thoroughly read the ingredient list and if you aren’t sure of something, check with the company!

Comments are closed.