Are Lentils Gluten Free?

This edition of “Gluten-Free or Not” for people either new to the gluten-free lifestyle or wondering if something contains gluten features lentils, an edible legume/bean.

The simple answer is yes, lentils are naturally gluten-free. The thing we need to worry about is cross-contamination. Do we really trust the brands that are not certified gluten-free? I usually don’t.

Lentils

Lentils – Naturally gluten-free, but beware of cross-contamination.

Arrowhead Mills is one trustworthy brand of gluten-free green and red lentils. I have always used their products and never once felt like I might be putting something into my body that I shouldn’t be. All of their gluten-free products have been tested and certified.

Lentils are a great item to add to a gluten-free diet because they have such a complete nutritional profile. The only legumes or nuts with higher protein content are soybeans and hemp. Lentils are also a good source of vitamins B1 and B9, iron, zinc, and phosphorus.

I love eating lentils with brown rice for a healthy vegetarian meal when I need a break from meat and dairy. Tasty, nutritious, and filling! Here are a few other gluten-free recipes utilizing our beloved lentils:

The best piece of advice I can give is to use a trusted brand of lentils instead of a brand that you aren’t sure of. The last thing I would want is someone getting sick from eating a brand of lentils that got some trace amounts of gluten in it while it was being packaged. Better safe than sorry!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply