Are Fritos Gluten Free?

Fritos are one of the most popular chips out there today.  These lovable corn chips are available in every grocery store and gas station you will ever come across.  Produced by Frito-Lay, there are now many different flavors of Fritos outside of the classic Original Corn Chips.

One of my favorite snacks to include in my school lunches growing up was always Fritos.  I was never a huge fan of regular potato chips; Fritos were different and delicious.  Since Fritos are so popular, it only made sense that I wrote a short article about whether or not they were gluten-free….

The Answer

Yes, according to fritolay.com, the Original Fritos Corn Chips ARE GLUTEN-FREE.  The Original Fritos are the regular Fritos that are most widely available.  Note that there are 8 different types of Fritos, but only the Original Corn Chips, Scoops Corn Chips, and Lightly Salted Corn Chips are gluten free.

I used to be a fan of the Chili Cheese Flavored Fritos, but I can’t eat them anymore because they contain gluten.  The Flavored Fritos all had gluten – Chili Cheese, BBQ, Flamin’ Hot, Tapatio.  I was pretty disappointed to learn this since I actually liked those better than the Original ones.

According to the Fritos website though, you can enjoy the Original Fritos Corn Chips with a peace of mind knowing they are GF!

2 Responses to Are Fritos Gluten Free?

  1. Kris July 8, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    However, some gluten-free people are sensitive to MSG (I’m one of them), and some flavored varieties of Frito-Lay products contain MSG. Just a heads up…

  2. heather April 10, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    I have celiac disease, and I get a very some stomach when I eat fritos.

Leave a Reply