Are Cheetos Gluten Free?

Ah, Cheetos!  I still remember my mom packing a bag of Cheetos with my lunch every day when I was in grade school.  I would always eat them before I ever touched my turkey or PB&J sandwich.  Though messy, there were few things I loved to eat as much as Cheetos when I was a little kid.  Even throughout high school and college, I still ate them on a pretty regular basis.

Cheetos have long been one of my favorite snacks.  When I first became gluten-free at the end of 2010, I was pretty devastated I could not eat many of my former favorite foods.  No more regular pizza, pasta, deli sandwiches, and other delicious items.  I was beginning to think I was stuck eating beans and rice for every meal and broccoli for snacks.  I was ecstatic to find out that Cheetos ARE GLUTEN-FREE.  I quickly hit up the grocery store to purchase 5 giant bags of them to celebrate.  I am a little ashamed to admit those 5 bags only lasted about a week.

However, if you are dairy-free, Cheetos do contain milk.  I do not have any major problems with dairy, so I am fine with it, but I know that many people who are GF also eat a dairy-free diet as well.  So for all of you avoiding dairy, no Cheetos for you until they make a dairy-free option!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply